Meet Nagoya University

2008 Nobel Physics An Chemistry Award Display

Dr. Toshihide Maskawa and Dr. Makoto Kobayashi, both graduates of Nagoya University, won the 2008 Nobel Prize in Physics. Dr. Osamu Shimomura, a former Assistant Professor at Nagoya University, won the 2008 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. This gallery was set up to commemorate these outstanding achievements.

The gallery has official replicas of the Nobel Prize medals and panels describing the Nobel Prize-winning research, to give visitors a close connection to the research content. You will find information about unique aspects of the research and education in Prof. Shoichi Sakata's Elementary Particle Theory Laboratory ("E Ken"), where Dr. Maskawa and Dr. Kobayashi studied, and Yoshimasa Hirata's laboratory, where Dr. Shimomura studied.

Admission to the gallery is free, so everyone is welcome to visit.


Schedule and contact information


Tue-Sat (except for holidays)


10:00am - 4:00pm


Engineering and Science Building, 2nd floor