Meet Nagoya University

Governing Structure

President & Vice Presidents

Updated on April 1, 2023



Naoshi Sugiyama




Vice Presidents


Kenji Kadomatsu

Vice President (Oversight, Research, and Medical-Related Collaboration)


Akira Fujimaki

Vice President (Education and Overseas Students)


Shogo Kimura

Vice President (Financial Affairs, Facilities, Development Office, and Public Relations & Branding)

Norimi Mizutani

Vice President (International Affairs, Planning & Evaluation, and Institutional Research)


Akihiro Sasoh

Vice President (Industry-Academia-Government Collaboration)

Junichi Sakuma

Vice President (Student Services, Entrance Exam, Humanities & Social Sciences Reform, Libraries, and Affiliated Upper and Lower Secondary Schools)

Masafumi Nakahigashi

Vice President (Legal Affairs, Risk Management, Research Misconduct, Internal Control, and Audit)


Miyuki Watanabe

Vice President (Special Appointee (Human Rights))


Hiroko Tsukamura

Vice President (Diversity and Gender Equality)


Kazuya Takeda

Vice President (Information System (Digital University), Information-Related Strategies, and Start-ups)


President's Career

 Naoshi Sugiyama


  • Assumed Office as the 15th Nagoya University President on April 1, 2022.
  • Term of Office: April 1, 2022 - March 31, 2028


1991 / 04

Research Associate, Faculty of Science, The University of Tokyo

1996 / 04

Associate Professor, Graduate School of Science, Kyoto University

2000 / 04

Professor, Division of Theoretical Astronomy, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan

2006 / 04

Professor, Graduate School of Science, Nagoya University

2007 / 10

Principle Investigator, Institute for the Physics and Math of the Universe, The University of Tokyo

2017 / 04

Dean, School and Graduate School of Science, Nagoya University

2019 / 04

Trustee and Vice President, Nagoya University

2020 / 04

Provost, Nagoya University / Trustee, Tokai National Higher Education and Research System

2022 / 04

President, Nagoya University / Executive Trustee and Vice Chancellor, Tokai National Higher Education and Research System