Nagoya University Professors Receive FY2020 MEXT Science and Technology Award

The Japanese Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT) has announced the recipients of its FY2020 Commendation for Science and Technology by MEXT, including ten researchers from Nagoya University (five for Awards for Science and Technology, and five for the Young Scientists' Award).


These prizes are awarded to researchers who have achieved significant advances in research, development, and promotion of public understanding for science and technology, with the aim of strengthening the motivation of researchers in the field and contributing to improvements in Japan's level of science and technology. Awards are bestowed for the categories of Science and Technology (further categorized to "Development," "Research," "Science and Technology Promotion," "Technology," and "Public Understanding Promotion"), Young Scientists, Creativity, and Outstanding Support for Research.



Recipients of Awards for Science and Technology


Name and Position



  • Emeritus Professor Gen Sobue (President of Aichi Medical University) [Leader]
  • Professor Masahisa Katsuno, Graduate School of Medicine
  • Former COE Designated Associate Professor Hiroaki Adachi, Graduate School of Medicine (Currently Professor of the University of Occupational and Environmental Health)


Research on pathogenesis and therapy development for spinal and bulbar muscular atrophy



  • Professor Yukio Tanaka, Graduate School of Engineering [Leader]
  • Professor Satoshi Kashiwaya, Graduate School of Engineering

Study of interface phenomena of unconventional superconductors



Recipients of the Young Scientists' Award



Natsumi Ageta

Lecturer, Graduate School of Science

Takeshi Kawasaki

Lecturer, Graduate School of Science

Takao Yasui

Associate Professor, Graduate School of Engineering

Jaerisch Johannes Klaus Bernhard

Associate Professor, Graduate School of Mathematics

Daisuke Ono

Assistant Professor, Research Institute of Environmental Medicine


Related Website: Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology